Back to work!

So far it has not been bad at all.  Maybe it’s because I know she is with my mother, whom she recognises immediately when walking into a room.  But next week I will be handing her over to total strangers.  I get all teary eyes just thinking about it.  I keep telling myself I am not a bad mother for doing it nor is it totally the wrong thing to do.  It just really makes me sad to think that this tiny baby has to stay for almost eight hours with not her parents, but with someone she has never spend a day with.  I also keep telling myself that these people are professionals and have been doing this for years. Needless to say, it is going to be a big adjustment for the both of us.

There will obviously be people thinking that seven months is way to young to start going to school.  Some mothers only send there kids to school from 2 – 3 years old and then that’s only half days to socialize with other kids.  But when you don’t have a choise, then unfortunately you have to do what you got to do.  I just hope and pray that all works out for the best.

Chosing a play school is a crucial decision.  Not only is this the place that your child will spend most of her time, but she will be spending time with other kids and with one specific teacher.  My advise would be is to ‘shop’ around, a lot. Play schools that are close to your work or your partner’s work are always a plus point.  If logistics don’t work out, look at schools with enough room where kids can play and run around.  Do they have enough room to sleep.  Food options. Are fresh fruits and vegetable daily prepared for them. Good healthy food options should be a must.  Are they sharing bedtime and feeding times with older children in the same room or are the babies in their own building/room.  Look at places that come recommended by your friends or school teachers.  Visit play schools without appointments.  This will ensure that you experience the school as is.  Go with your gut feeling.  If you don’t like it, then look at the next one.  If one of the teachers or the principal give you the jeepers creepers, then opt for some place else.  You as a parent must feel at ease and comfortable with the people working there.

I am very lucky to have had the opportunity to place Baby Girl in a school 5 minutes from my partners workplace.  Half an hour from my mother and its also situated in a beautiful area, close to where I  grew up! Lots of play areas outside, farm animals to feed.  Tractor rides, horse riding and so many more thing to do outside.  I am very happy with my choise and I have a good feeling that all will be great this year.  This school will most probably become her second home for the next 5 years!

Moms and Dads, go with that six sence.  If your friends recommend a certain school, know that they will not put your child’s life at risk.  There are so many options, play schools, day mothers and nannies.  At the end of the day, go with what suits your lifestyle and pocket.  Remember, this is your child’s future we are talking about, make it a fantastic one!

Leave a Reply

