So, I decided to to start this blog, because firstly, I now (at this moment) have a break and secondly, well I need to write down what I’m feeling and doing during the day and share it with people older than 2 months (no offence my beautiful baby girl, mommy’s got to take some time for herself too.  Funny how in my head, I’m saying it in this high pinch baby goo-goo gaga language). Yes, I have learned how to speak to babies, not that they don’t understand my normal language, but we have to adapt as mothers.  I figured before I had her I would be speaking in a normal manner, but alas, this baby as gotten me in her tiny firm grip and transformed me into a goo-goo gaga human!

I’ve been at home for the last 2 months, after giving birth to a healthy girl.  Yes, she has ten fingers and ten toes and I am blessed that she has come into my life.  We both are, that’s me and my  fiance.  ( I’m not married yet, but that’s another story for later).  We were given the ‘go ahead’ and in early June, a week before she was due, I went in for an induction.  Well, let me tell you.  If you can have a normal delivery without induction, do it! I ended up having an emergency caesarean, because my uterus overstimulated.  Possible?  I was my gyne’s first patient that it happen to.  She reminded me afterwards that if I was planning on having another baby, don’t opt for an induction…that said.  We went into theater and she was out in under 2 minutes. Amazing! Not amazing was the amount of discomfort I was in for the next 3 weeks. Word of advise, do not bend forward or backwards or even stay one side of your body too long. Take nice warm showers ( a bath is out of the question after c-section).  Get and accept help! Especially for the first few weeks.  It is not possible to do all the things that you thought you’d be able to do. Like, standing up from a sitting position with your baby.  Not happening. Get your mother or a good friend to sleep over.  That cup of caffeine-free rooibos tea in the middle of the night whilst breastfeeding, means a lot.  Ahh, yes, breastfeeding.  The doctors, nurses, grandmothers (and -fathers) and health department, wants you to breastfeed for the first six months.  If you are medically not able to breastfeed and formula is your only option, than so be it.  But God has given us women breasts for a couple of reasons and one of them is to breastfeed. It is the first thing you do when holding your baby for the first time. It is painful the first few weeks, but there is nothing better then the encouragement from mom and Lanolin. I have been breastfeeding for the last 9 weeks and its going very well. Lets see how long it’s going to last. Now that I have that ticked off the list, I am waiting for the next challenge…teething.

This is not even half of my story and I have many more tales to write.  I hope that everyone that is reading this, will enjoy and walk away from you computer or phone, thinking, that this discomfort and annoyance shall pass.

Leave a Reply

